Market Towns Investment Group

The South Somerset Market Towns Investment Group was first established in 2006 to help promote the ways in which our market towns can work together to build better communities.

The ten parishes who form the group are:

  • Bruton
  • Castle Cary
  • Chard
  • Crewkerne
  • Ilminster
  • Langport
  • Martock
  • Somerton
  • South Petherton
  • Wincanton


The town or parish council for each place appoints two local representatives who together with representatives of the district council form the Market Towns Investment Group (MTIG).

MTIG was originally established as a sub-group of South Somerset Together.  In 2011 it began to operate independently with the support of South Somerset District Council.

The role of MTIG is to:

  • Consider common project themes that could be funded collectively across some or all Market Towns
  • Consider common issues that could be addressed collectively
  • Receive and give advice and guidance through the Market Towns representative on potential investment programmes or opportunities to review and update their Market Town Community Plan
  • Discuss proposals with potential funders
  • Monitor delivery of key projects within market towns.


Through MTIG, South Somerset District Council has supported a number projects by working closely with local representatives.

See our page on projects and case studies for further details of what has happened in each place.

See our page on facts and stats for further information on the needs and issues in South Somerset.

For more information on the work of the Market Towns Investment Group please contact us.