European Parliamentary Elections

Welcome to the South-West Region European Election information area.

The next European Parliamentary Election will be held across Europe from 22nd - 25th May 2014.

In the UK, Polling Day will be Thursday 22nd May 2014 with Polling Stations being open from 07:00 - 22:00.

These will be the eighth Europe wide Elections to the European Parliament since the first direct Elections in 1979.

Paul Morris, the Electoral Registration and Returning Officer for the Borough of Poole, is the Regional Returning Officer for the South West.

The South West Region includes the following Councils:

Bath & North East Somerset Council

Borough of Poole

Bournemouth Borough Council

Bristol City Council

Cheltenham Borough Council

Christchurch Borough Council

Cornwall Council

Cotswold District Council

Council of the Isles of Scilly

East Devon District Council

East Dorset District Council

Exeter City Council

Forest of Dean District Council

Gibraltar Parliament

Gloucester City Council

Mendip District Council

Mid Devon District Council

North Devon District Council

North Dorset District Council

North Somerset District Council

Plymouth City Council

Purbeck District Council

Sedgemoor District Council

South Gloucestershire Council

South Hams District Council

South Somerset District Council

Stroud District Council

Swindon Borough Council

Taunton Deane Borough Council

Teignbridge District Council

Tewkesbury Borough Council

Torbay Council

Torridge District Council

West Devon Borough Council

West Dorset District Council

West Somerset District Council

Weymouth & Portland Borough Council

Wiltshire Council

Election Timetable

The Election Timetable is available here. The dates are fixed by legislation and cannot be altered by the Returning Officer.  The Notice of Election will be published on 10 April 2014.

The closing date for nominations is Wednesday 23 April 2014 @ 16:00. This is two days earlier than the other 11 Regions of the UK due to there being two additional Bank Holidays in Gibraltar on 28 April and 1st May.

Postal Voting

If you require a postal vote please contact Electoral Services who will be pleased to send you a form to complete.

Tel 01935 462462


The deadline for a new Postal Vote for the European Elections is 7th May 2014.

Alternatively you can download a form here or go to

To apply to vote by Proxy download a form here or go to

Registering to Vote

If you are not registered to vote you can download an application form here

Voting Method

MEPs are elected under a proportional representation system (d.Hondt).  In the UK you have one vote to elect all of your MEPs.  Each party puts forward a list of candidates called a 'regional list' and you vote for one of these lists or for an independent candidate.

The parties are then allocated a number of MEPs according to their share of the vote.

To view the Notice of Election click here

Statement of Parties Individual Candidates Nominated and Notice of Poll

Results 2014

South Somerset Declaration

Declaration of Regional Result

Calculations - EU elections seat allocation - 25th May 2014

Summary - EU elections seat allocation - 25th May 2014

LA Party Totals - EU elections seat allocation - 25th May 2014

Results 2009

The last Elections were held in the United Kingdom on Thursday 4th June (polling stations were open between 07:00 and 22:00).  Votes were counted on Sunday 7th June and the result announced that evening (after the close of voting in all European Union countries).  Please see the link below.  The South West Region elected 3 Conservative, 2 UKIP and 1 Liberal Democrat MEPs.


Other useful links: