Skip to content Read our accesibilty statement

Town and Parish Council May 2022 election results

| District

The results for the contested Town and Parish Councils within South Somerset are now available.

Residents of the 22 towns and parishes across the district were able to vote for their new councillors on 5 May.

The contested towns, parishes and wards were:

  • Buckland St Mary Parish Council
  • Chaffcombe Parish Counci
  • Chard Town Council - Avishayes Ward
  • Chard Town Council - Combe Ward
  • Chard Town Council - Crimchard Ward
  • Chard Town Council - Holyrood Ward
  • Chard Town Council - Jocelyn Ward
  • Chard Town Council - Shepherd's Lane Ward
  • Crewkerne Town Council
  • Henstridge Parish Council
  • High Ham Parish Council
  • Huish Episcopi Parish Council (Huish Episcopi Ward)
  • Shepton Montague Parish Council
  • Stoke Sub Hamdon Parish Council (Stoke Sub Hamdon Ward)
  • Wincanton Town Council
  • Yeovil Town Council - College Ward
  • Yeovil Town Council - Crofton Park Ward
  • Yeovil Town Council - Grove Avenue Ward
  • Yeovil Town Council - Lyde Ward
  • Yeovil Town Council - Summerlands Ward
  • Yeovil Town Council - Westland Ward
  • Yeovil Town Council - Wyndham Hill Ward


The results are available to view online on our website:

Information about uncontested Towns and Parishes in South Somerset, including nominated candidates, can also be viewed on our website:

Councillors representing their communities on Town and Parish Councils will serve a five-year term, bringing these elections into line with county elections going forward.

Elections for the Somerset County Council also took place on 5 May. The full list of people elected for the 110 County Council seats, two in each of the 55 divisions, can be found on the Somerset County Council website:

For their first year, the elected councillors will take responsibility for all current County Council services and oversee the local government reorganisation to establish a single unitary council on 1 April 2023.

From 1 April 2023, the 110 councillors of the unitary council will be responsible for all services that are currently delivered by the county and four district councils, ranging from adults and children’s social care to highways and housing, and from libraries to planning and licensing.

District councils will remain until 31 March 2023, and the councillors serving on them will continue in their roles until that date.

For more information on elections in South Somerset, visit

Thank you. You response is appreciated.

Was this page helpful?